5/15/14 Government Discrimination


This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act.  The law outlawed discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

Few people know that a subsequent law carved out an exception.  This law permits one state to discriminate against blacks, Hispanics, Asians and whites.  The federal government even gives taxpayer money to that state enabling it to discriminate.

Under 25 US Code section 4223 [25 USC 4223] the state of Hawaii is permitted to discriminate against everyone except Native Hawaiians when doling out federal housing money.

This exception allows Hawaii to administer federal taxpayer dollars and give them only to those who are at least 50% native Hawaiian.

An outcome of the Civil War was the 14th Amendment’s Equal Protection Clause.  The Equal Protection Clause ended government sanctioned discrimination based on national origin.

The 1964 Civil Rights Act codified this constitutional protection.  But federal law specifically permits — and funds — discrimination against non-native Hawaiians in the state of Hawaii when it comes to federal housing.

The Senate is currently considering Senate bill 1352 [S.1352]. Section 503 reauthorizes this discriminatory practice at least through 2018.

This provision should be stripped out.  So we once again end government-sanctioned discrimination.  

You can follow Behind the Headlines on Twitter at @BehindTheHead.
You can follow Mark on
Twitter at @MarkHyman.
Join us on our
Facebook page.